Jaffna Stallions win inaugural LPL title

In a one-sided Lanka Premier League (LPL) closing on Wednesday, former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik arrange Jaffna Stallions to an enormous 53-run win over Galle Gladiators to assert the inaugural title. 

The ultimate witnessed two contrasting halves of play after the Stallions captain Thisara Perera received the toss and opted to bat first at Mahinda Rajapaksa Worldwide Stadium, Hambantota.

Openers Avishka Fernando (27 off 23) and Johnson Charles (26 off 15) laid the inspiration with a 44-run opening stand, then Malik (46 off 35) took over because the Mohammad Amir-led bowling assault struggled to comprise the Stallions.

Malik’s knock was ably supported by Dhananjaya de Silva (33 off 20) and skipper Perera, who remained unbeaten on 39 off 14 as they set a 189-run goal for the Gladiators.

Dhananjaya Lakshan claimed three wickets, together with these of Malik and Dhananjaya, whereas Amir, Sahan Arachchige and Sandakan took a wicket every.

Malik, 38, then returned to take two wickets in his three overs’ spell for simply 13 runs at the same time as Gladiators’ chase obtained off to a horrendous begin.

They misplaced opener Hazratullah Zazai (0 off 2) off the third ball of the innings, to Dhananjaya, then Danushka Gunathilaka (1 off 2) discovered himself quick to a Perera fielding effort to depart Gladiators at 3/2 contained in the second over. Ahsan Ali (6 off 6) quickly joined the duo within the hut.

Skipper Bhanuka Rajapaksa hit 17-ball 40 with the assistance of three fours and 4 sixes to briefly revived the chase. Azam Khan additionally contributed with 17-ball 36, however they may handle solely 135/9 in 20 overs.


Leave a Reply

Back to top button